Some of My Favorite Tips and Advice for a Healthy Life

I have found myself in a rut recently and I think it is going to take a complete overhaul of reorganizing my room, my life, and my brain, in order to start with a fresh and clean perspective. Sometimes I get run down and I can’t quite pinpoint why. When this happens for more than a few days, and I find myself not wanting to move my body and make healthier choices, I know I need to take a moment to refocus and find out what my next steps will be. Below are some of my favorite tips for getting back on the path to leading a healthier and sustainable lifestyle.

  1. Stop worrying about what everyone else is doing. Maybe you took the day off from the gym, maybe you had fries at lunch, and maybe a girl on Instagram ‘crushed legs’ and had a protein shake today… Don’t. Even. Think. About. It. Her success has nothing to do with yours. The sooner you realize that and accept it, the happier you will be.
  2. Don’t let peer pressure affect your decisions. For example, my family loves meat, while I would prefer to have a big salad with a little meat on the side. They jokingly tease me for my ‘rabbit food’ choices, but I don’t let their opinions affect my feelings or decisions. I do what’s best for me and they understand that.
  3. Refresh your routine. Get new workout music, try new exercise gear. Sometimes this tip bothers me because not everyone has the money to buy new clothing every time they feel the urge but it could be something small and it will still be a treat. I just bought myself 4 pairs of running socks that I had a gift card for, and they were on sale. It was an inexpensive way to do something exciting for myself that got me more motivated to use them.
  4. Pamper yourself for a successful week. This also doesn’t have to be expensive. I don’t often have the money for a spa day, so I do my own and I paint my nails, give myself a face mask, use an exfoliating scrub on my skin, soak my feet, etc.
  5. Try to do something active every day. Desk jobs can be extremely taxing on the mind, and after not moving your body for long periods of time, it is easy to get used to that. DON’T. You don’t need to map out hours for exercising each day. Parking farther away, walking to lunch, using your coffee break for a short walk instead, will not only get you moving, it will give you more energy. Just keep your body moving whenever and wherever you can, it will add up.
  6. Try new things. Are you plateauing and getting bored of doing the same gym routine? It’s time to mix it up. Find a workout buddy, try bike riding, try a workout class, do a yoga/pilates DVD in your living room, etc. Think of new things that might spark your athletic interests and try it.
  7. Pinterest. Need new recipes and new workout ideas? Look no further.
  8. Clean your bedroom and organize your personal space. I can’t stress this enough. I am a new woman when I have cleaned my room and gotten rid of clothing, paperwork and miscellaneous things I no longer need. Your room should be your sanctuary and when you treat it that way you will find that you are motivated to be more organized in not just your room but other aspects of your life as well.

Try out some of my favorite tips and share your success stories with me!

About Carol On the Run

Hello everyone! Welcome to Carol_ontherun. I am a fitness and health enthusiast striving for happiness in everyday life. I am a Graduate student at Southern New Hampshire University in the Sport Management department. I work as a Research Assistant for the department and for the School of Business Dean’s Office. I have a background in Nutrition and Wellness from the University of New Hampshire. I created this blog to cover some topics in the health industry that I find interesting, influential and potentially controversial. In a country with growing health concerns, it is important to understand that while there is a lot of great health and fitness information available, there is also a lot of misinformation. In this blog I will be covering topics related to fitness, health and wellness and how the media’s influence in our society affects how this information is distributed to consumers. Read on to find out more about social media and it’s influence, and my passion for the health and fitness industry. I promise to deliver factual information in what I hope to be an interesting and potentially humorous manner! "I enjoy running, and spend most of my time running around"
This entry was posted in Balance, Exercise, Fresh Start, Future, Health & Wellness, Health Industry, Healthy Rewards, Moderation, Motivation, Nutrition & Fitness, Organization, relaxation, Self Love, Stress Management, Time Management. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

